Go to content

Main navigation

Correcting a forgotten check-out

Did you forget to check in or -out? You can easily correct forgotten check-ins and -outs in Mijn NS Zakelijk. The Forgotten Check-Out Service is a standard feature of your NS-Business Card. With this handy service, we will correct up to a maximum of five forgotten check-ins and -outs per calendar year.


Correcting via Mijn NS Zakelijk

You can easily correct a forgotten check-in or -out via Mijn NS Zakelijk. This video shows you how. 

Vergeten Check-uit Service

The Forgotten Check-Out Service is a standard service on your chipkaart. We will automatically correct the forgotten check out if we can determine your final station to a reasonable degree of certainty. For example, we may look for a subsequent check-in. Based on the final station of your journey, we will then determine the journey price and inform you via email. If we are unsure about the final station, we will send you an email notification so that you can correct the journey yourself in Mijn NS Zakelijk.

Please note: The Forgotten Check Out Service only applies for journeys made with NS.

Forgot to check in/check out

Correction fee

If we cannot determine the final station to a reasonable degree of certainty, then we will charge you a correction fee. This fee will be charged on the 5th day following the travel date. You will receive an email with a request to specify the relevant check out station in Mijn NS Zakelijk no later than 6 months after the date of travel. You can find the corrective fee in your travel history under 'Previous Journeys'. If you add the correct final station under 'Refund for forgotten check in or check out', then we can charge the original ticket price and refund the correction fee amount. 

Maximum of 5 

We will correct a maximum of five forgotten check-outs per calendar year. After the fifth correction, we will no longer correct your check-ins and -outs automatically, and you will not receive a notification via the Forgotten Check-Out Service.  

Invoicing 

The charge for an automatically corrected train journey looks like this on your invoice: 

(Debit invoice) – This is the amount charged:  

  • The 'Correction Fee: travel without a check-out' on the date of the forgotten check-out.  

  • The price of the automatically corrected journey.  

(Credit invoice) – this is what you will receive from us:  

  • Refund of the 'Correction Fee: travel without a check-out', on the date of the forgotten check-out. 

This automatically corrected journey will not affect the automated reading of the transaction statement in your company's systems. 

Would you like to know more? 

Read the Frequently Asked Questions & Answers (in Dutch).