Go to content

Main navigation

Safe Train Service

Starting on 1 July 2020, you can register your train journey or bicycle on the train before travelling with NS. In the period leading up to this date, NS has extensively tested the Safe Train Service to gain more experience in the registration of journeys. This service is now being made available to everybody and bicycles have been added. the description of the processing that you are reading about now will be visible in the data processing after 1 July.


What personal data do we use?

To register a journey or a bicycle on the train, create an account with an e-mail address and password. It goes without saying that NS will process the journeys you have registered. NS also processes the number of your OV-chipkaart when you register journeys or a bicycle and provide the OV-chipkaart number.

You have several options for travelling with NS. You can choose to use a personal OV-chipkaart, an anonymous OV-chipkaart, or an e-ticket. The number of the OV-chipkaart will also be processed, depending on the type of card or subscription and the method of registration.

What do we use your personal data for?

The e-mail address will enable us to communicate with you about matters such as changes to the timetable or a registration in the train. NS uses the registered train journeys to gain better insight into the demand for places on the train and to further develop the Safe Train Service. Incidentally, these analyses are performed without using your e-mail address. By registering journeys and a bicycle on the train, you get a better idea of the train's capacity. Please note: your registration is neither a ticket nor a booking that entitles you to a seat or to bring your bicycle on the train.

To further develop the Safe Train Service, NS would like to know which journeys you registered and which journeys you actually made. For this purpose, NS will create a one-ff link between your e-mail address, OV-chipkaart number and the journeys you have made. If you choose to do this, you are giving NS permission.

The basis for processing is the consent of the person concerned

Upon registering, you agree to the conditions under which the registration can take place and the processing of your data. You can withdraw this permission at any moment.

With whom do we share this data?

We contract third parties to provide IT and marketing services. These third parties process our information solely for our own internal use, and for no other purpose. We have made agreements with these parties pertaining to the processing of personal information.

We may transfer your personal information to parties outside the European Economic Area under certain circumstances. In that event, we will take suitable measures with these parties, for example by agreeing to the standard contractual clauses adopted by the European Commission.

How long do we store your data?

If you participated in the pilot for the Safe Train Service, then the journeys you registered will be anonymised within three months after the start of the pilot. Your account will remain until you cancel it as described here. The NS account can also be used for other services than the STS.

For the period after 1 July, we will anonymise your registered journeys after one month. We will delete your NS account when you ask NS to do so as described here.